Kamisama no Iu Toori: As God’s Will (Japanese Movie)

darusama

Synopsis:

An ordinary 2nd-year high school student named Shun Takahata lived a mundane teenage life until one day, a daruma doll appears inside his homeroom classroom and he’s suddenly forced to participate in a series of children’s games such as “Daruma-san ga Koronda” with death as the penalty for losing. With no knowledge of who’s behind the games, he’s left with no other choice but to keep winning as his only means of protecting himself and his childhood friend, Ichika. Meanwhile, a troubled classmate named Takeru seems to actually be relishing the opportunity to get other students killed. 

Words From Me: 

I watched this movie by chance and it was gruesomely mind blowing. The gore and the story line felt like I was watching Battle Royale and Kill Bill with bits of alien-game-type feature running around the screen.

The first few minutes captured my attention due to so much red beads, blood spatter and corpses… that alone made me curious as to what kind of movie this was going to be because I had no idea what I was getting myself into. After seeing it to the very end, I realized how much violent and convoluted this film was, but I loved it nonetheless.

There were so many factors in which this movie captured my attention, but most likely it was the story line. A bunch of high school students, running around and trying to survive their circumstances was something that has always been interesting for me. Somehow, the actors and overall story-line made up for slightly lack of polish on the CG effects. Although I understand that the way they made the CG effects was part of the plan, I still wished it was more realistic. It would have been more awesome if that was the case.

Overall, the movie was great. Despite the cliffhanger ending and subpar CGI; I still would recommend it to watchers who are likely fans of gore and violent movies.

Hope this movie gets a part 2 as well!

Leave a Reply

